Download Brochure

Please fill in the details and get the Brochure!


Suicide Prevention: How to Recognize the Warning Signs- Legal obligation

  EVENT DATE

November 02, 2018

  PRESENTER(s)

Hope Krisch & Lori Kirsch-Goodwin

  10:00 AM ET | 9:00 AM CT | 7:00 AM PT | 60 Minutes



This program has been approved for 1.0 PDCs toward SHRM certification hours.
The program is pre-approved for 1 credit hour under HRCI

DESCRIPTION



Student Suicide Risk Assessment, Prevention, Response and Legal Obligations of Schools

Schools can be legally liable for failing to address and prevent student suicides. This is why it is very necessary for everyone to know about a few things, such as:

  • How to conduct a suicide risk assessment
  • What schools can do to address risks of suicide
  • What schools should do after a suicide
  • Resources for educators

This webinar by expert speakers Lori Kirsch-Goodwin, Esq. and Hope N. Kirsch, Esq. will provide guidance to representatives of schools to understand causes of suicide, and how to begin to establish a suicide prevention program, and what to do after a student suicide incident comes up. Attendees of this event will also get to learn how schools around the country are presently addressing the increasing epidemic of student suicide.

Session Highlights:

  • What educators need to know about suicide
  • Prevalence of suicide / statistics
  • The intersection of bullying and suicide
  • How to screen for and identify at-risk students
  • How to conduct a suicide risk assessment
  • Legal remedies families can pursue against schools
  • Recent case law involving suicide

Who should attend:

  • School administrators
  • Educators
  • School attorneys
  • Attorneys representing students and their families
  • Parents of students with disabilities or suspected disabilities
  • School psychologists

Download Conference Material

Download Here (Password Needed)






CERTIFICATION PARTNERS

 
HRCI
HRCI
HRCI
HRCI